George Katona Economic Behavior Research Award Fund


George Katona

George Katona

The George Katona Research Award Fund in Economic Behavior was established to support emerging scholars who are interested in how economic expectations shape consumer behavior and the macroeconomy. The Katona Fund provides research awards to emerging scholars in the social sciences conducting empirically grounded economic research in the tradition of George Katona.

Priority will be given to research using the Surveys of Consumers database or similar data from the more than 60 other countries that conduct consumer surveys. In addition, priority will also be given to those who work on the development and application of expectational measures. Applications on related topics are also welcome. Learn more about the SCA at

Award Form and Scope

The George Katona Fund will support work related to George Katona’s legacy. If you have any questions about the award process, please send an email to

Feiya Shao, 2015 Katona Scholar. Photo courtesy of Feiya Shao.

Katona Award Recipients

Ariel Binder, 2019
Yipei Cao, 2017
Shuqiao Sun, 2017
Catalina Franco and Meera Mahadevan, 2016
Bryan Stuart, 2016
Feiya Shao, 2015
Isaac Sorkin and Bryan Stuart, 2015
Tong Yob Nam, 2014
Johannes Norling, 2014
Peter Hudomiet, 2013
Nitya Pandalai Nayar, 2013

To support this fund and make future work possible, please visit our Next Generation Giving Page.