ICPSR’s Miller, Flanigan, and Innovation Award Winners Honored at 2021 ICPSR Biennial Meeting

October 7, 2021

ANN ARBOR – The ICPSR community gathered in-person and online today to honor the recipients of the 2021 ICPSR Awards.

ICPSR honored the staff of the 2020 ICPSR Summer Program with the 2021 ICPSR Innovator of the Year Award for their successful move from in-person to online instruction during the COVID-19 pandemic. “The Summer Program had to pivot because of the pandemic and go fully online, fully remote, with just a few weeks’ notice to shift over, and the team pulled together and was just amazing,” said ICPSR Director Margaret Levenstein. “In 2020, there were a record number of participants in the program, and even though this award is for last summer, this summer they exceeded even that, and more participants than ever before got to participate in the ICPSR Summer Program.

ICPSR Summer Program Staff 2020

Summer Program staff (clockwise from top left): Scott Campbell, Stephanie Carpenter, Edward Czilli, Youngmin Kim, Diane Viebahn, Mike Traugott, Fillippo Stargell, and Shelly Petrinko.

Ron S. Jarmin was the recipient of the 2021 Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences. Jarmin is acting director, deputy director, and chief operating officer of the U.S. Census Bureau. Joining ICPSR Director Margaret Levenstein in presenting Jarmin’s award was Matthew D. Shapiro, Director and Research Professor at the University of Michigan Institute for Social Research’s (ISR) Survey Research Center, and the Lawrence R. Klein Collegiate Professor of Economics.

“It is fitting that Ron Jarmin receives the award named for the esteemed ISR founder Warren Miller, whose work created the National Election Survey, which provides the empirical basis for what we understand about the workings of US Democracy. The Decennial Census, of course, is the foundation of how we represent and how we vote in the United States. Ron led us through twin challenges of the attempts of the politicization of the Census, and the Covid crisis,” Shapiro said. “Under tremendous pressure, Ron and his colleagues maintained the integrity of the count.”

Jane Fry was the recipient of the 2021 William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Official Representative. Fry is the Data Services Librarian at MacOdrum Library, Carleton University (Ottawa, Canada). Previous Flanigan Award winners and longtime ICPSR Representatives Bobray Bordelon (Economics & Finance Librarian and Data Services Librarian at Princeton University) and Ron Nakao (Data and Computational Social Science Librarian at Stanford University) joined Levenstein in presenting Fry’s award.

“Jane has touched so many people in so many different ways, including, and probably very importantly, the next generation of folks in our profession. She is much respected and a beloved teacher with a tireless passion for data and metadata liberation. Bobray and I are proud of her accomplishments and have been blessed to have worked with her so closely these past seven years,” Nakao said.

Congratulations to all of this year’s award recipients!

Dory Knight-Ingram, [email protected]

Scroll to Top