Two U-M faculty members elected to the National Academy of Sciences

May 4, 2022

Contact: Jim Erickson, 734-647-1842, [email protected]

ANN ARBOR—Two University of Michigan professors are among the most recent inductees into the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest distinctions for a scientist or engineer in the United States.

The academy announced the election of 120 members and 30 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

U-M’s newly elected NAS members are:

Vincent Hutchings, the Hanes Walton Jr. Collegiate Professor of Political Science and Afroamerican and African Studies, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; research professor, Institute for Social Research.

Ivette Perfecto, the James E. Crowfoot Collegiate Professor of Environmental Justice, School for Environment and Sustainability and Program in the Environment, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.

The newly elected NAS members bring the total number of active members to 2,512 and the total number of international members to 517. International members are nonvoting members of the academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863.

It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership and, with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine, provides science, engineering and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Scroll to Top