• At the one year mark, you will be asked to share an update about the status of your research
  • In publications and presentations, acknowledge ISR and this award’s support
  • Faculty and postdocs can apply for funds that will cover the creation the implementation of courses on new data collection methodologies for the ISR Summer Institute

Eligibility and Scope

  • Open to University of Michigan graduate students, postdocs, faculty and staff
  • Award Amount: Up to $11,000

Application Process

  • Documents required for submission
    • Curriculum Vitae
    • Proposal Document
  • If you have any questions about the award process, please contact [email protected]

Previous Cannell Fund Recipients

  • Tiffany Neman, 2020-2021, Department of Sociology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Mariel McKone Leonard 2019-2020, Doctoral student in the Graduate School of Economic and Social Sciences at the University of Mannheim in Mannheim, Germany
  • Antje Rosebrock, 2019-2020 Doctoral student in the Graduate School of Economic and Social Sciences at the University of Mannheim in Mannheim, Germany
  • Yuliya Kosyakova, 2018-2019, Researcher in Migration and International Labour Studies at the Institute for Employment Research in Nuremburg, Germany. Development of Tools to Detect Interviewer Falsification.
  • Kristen Olson and Jolene Smyth, 2018-2019, Associate professors at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Isabel Anadon, 2017-2018, Doctoral candidate in sociology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Felicitas Mittereder, 2017-2018, Doctoral candidate in the Michigan Program in Survey Methodology
  • Shelley Feuer, 2016-2017 Doctoral candidate in cognitive psychology at the New School for Social Research
  • Jamie Griffin, 2015-2016, Assistant Research Scientist with the Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) at the Institute for Social Research
  • Simon Kühne, 2015-2016, Doctoral student at the Berlin Graduate School of Social Sciences, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and a Research Associate with the Socio-Economic Panel Study at DIW Berlin
  • Kristen Cibelli Hibben, 2014-2015, Survey Methodologist at the Survey Research Center’s International Survey Operations at the Institute for Social Research, The Effects of Respondent Commitment and Feedback on Response Quality in Online Surveys
  • Hanyu Sun, 2014-2015, Methodologist at Westat, Rapport and Its Impact on the Disclosure of Sensitive Information in Standardized Interviews
  • In 2013, the Cannell Fund co-sponsored the Interviewer-Respondent Interaction Workshop, May 15-16, in Boston, immediately preceding the 68th Annual Conference of the American Association for Public Opinion Research. For more information about the workshop, visit the Workshop website.
  • Dana Garbarski, 2012-2013,Assistant Professor in the Department of Sociology at Loyola University Chicago, “Interviewing Practices, Conversational Practices, and Rapport: Responsiveness and Engagement in the Survey Interview” 
  • Julie Korbmacher and Ulrich Krieger, 2012-2013, Researchers at the Munich Center for the Economics of Aging with is part of the Max Planck Institute for Social Law and Social Policy
  • Brady West, 2011-2012, Research Associate Professor in the Survey Methodology Program at the University of Michigan
  • Jessica Broome, 2011-2012, Michigan Program in Survey Methodology, Jessica Broome’s dissertation
  • 2010-2011
  • Rebecca Rosen 2010-2011, Michigan New School for Social Research, “Effects of Mood and Interviewing Mode on Self-Disclosure by College Students” 
  • Stephanie Eckman, 2009-2010,  University of Maryland’s Joint Program in Survey Methodology dissertation, “Errors in Housing Unit Listing and Their Effects on Survey Estimates” 
  • Stephanie Eckman 2009-2010
  • Ipek Bilgen 2009-2010
  • Matthew Jans’ 2008-2009
  • Brooke Foucault Welles 2008-2009
  • Rachel Davis 2007-2008
  • Laura Lind 2007-2008
  • David Wilson 2005-2006
  • Lindsay Benstead 2005-2006
  • Jennifer Dykema 2005-2006
  • Patrick Ehlen 2004-2005
  • Frauke Kreuter 2004-2005

To support this fund and make future awards possible, please visit our Next Generation Giving Page.

Scroll to Top