Angus Campbell Scholars Fund

The Angus Campbell Scholars Fund provides research awards to University of Michigan graduate students who are conducting research dealing with quality of life and psychological well-being. Relevant topics include, but are not limited to, measurement and determinants such as work, marriage, family life, health, and place, as well as political behavior and identification, across gender and/or race, in the United States or internationally.


Angus Campbell

The Angus Campbell Scholars Fund was established by his family and the Survey Research Center to honor him and to further the wide array of research that characterized his distinguished career. Campbell was the first director of the Survey Research Center, and subsequently, director of Institute for Social Research. In addition to his leadership role over many years, he conducted research on voting and political behavior, social change and quality of life including its meaning and determinants.

For more information about Angus Campbell, read this Biographical Memoir written shortly after his death. For more information about his research on quality of life, refer to pages 50 and 51 therein.

Campbell’s seminal work with colleagues Philip Converse and Willard Rodgers, The Quality of American Life: Perceptions, Evaluations, and Satisfactions was published in 1976 by the Russell Sage Foundation. This was followed by The Sense of Well Being in America: Recent Patterns and Trends, which was published shortly before Campbell’s death in 1981.

Application Process

Please see the Fellowships & Awards Homepage for award amounts and application deadlines, updated at the end of each calendar year. If you have any questions about the award process, please send an email to

Additional Expectations

  • At one year mark, you will be asked to share an update about the status of your research.
  • Acknowledge ISR and this award’s support in publications and presentations.

Campbell Scholars

Sofia Hiltner, 2022, U-M Department of Sociology
Taylor Spencer, 2021, U-M Department of Anthropology
Sara Abelson, 2020, U-M School of Public Health
Shanice Battle, 2019, U-M School of Public Health
Leah Abrams, 2018, U-M School of Public Health
Kirill Zhirkov, 2017, U-M Department of Political Science

To support this fund and make future awards possible, please visit our Next Generation Giving Page.