Daniel Katz Dissertation Fellowship in Psychology and Survey Methodology

Beginning with the 2014-2015 award, the Fellowship will support students in MPSM and Psychology in alternate years.

The 2021 Award will be open to Ph.D. Candidates in Psychology, while the 2022 Award will be open to Ph.D. Candidates in Survey Methodology.


Daniel Katz

Daniel Katz

The Daniel Katz Dissertation Fellowship in Psychology and Survey Methodology is to support a Ph.D. candidate in Psychology or Survey Methodology, depending on the year, while they are writing their dissertation, which is a project at the intersection of survey methodology and psychology. Applicants must be candidates and must have completed all the requirements for a Ph.D. except the dissertation defense. The award provides funding to be used in the form deemed most valuable to the recipient (tuition, research activities, stipend, etc.).

Application Procedures

Please see the Fellowships & Awards Homepage for award amounts and application deadlines, updated at the beginning of each calendar year. The application for the Katz Dissertation Fellowship can be accessed here: http://apply.interfolio.com/83585.The application includes the following materials.

  • A current CV
  • one letter of recommendation that address the strengths of the dissertation project from the dissertation advisor and should attest to the candidate’s ability to finish the dissertation by the end of the following Summer Term.
  • a brief (no more than three single-spaced pages) description of the project, its timeline, and its intellectual relationship to ISR (e.g., ISR faculty, an ISR project, and/or a data set collected at ISR).

As part of the application, there is also a form with several questions about the project to be supported, including project, methodology, timeline, deliverables, etc. Answers to these are expected to be brief, around 3 sentences.

If you have any questions about the award process, please send an email to umisr-awards@umich.edu.

Additional Expectations

  • At one year mark, you will be asked to share an update about the status of your research.
  • Acknowledge ISR and this award’s support in publications and presentations.

Katz Fellows

Dominic Kelly, 2021
Fernanda Alvarado-Leiton, 2020
Veronica Derricks, 2019
Felicitas Mittereder, 2017
H. Yanna Yan, 2016
David Lee, 2015
Christopher Antoun, 2014
George Smith, 2013
Ryan Bremner, 2012
Nina Strohminger, 2011
Igor Grossman, 2010
Nicholas Sorensen, 2009
Heather Fuller-Iglesias, 2008
Nicholas Bowman, 2007
Justin Jager, 2006
Katherine Fiori, 2005
Shawna Lee, 2004
Janxin Leu, 2003

To support this fund and make future awards possible, please visit our Next Generation Giving Page.