Committee will help with search for next ISR director

January 22, 2020

ANN ARBOR – An advisory committee has been formed to assist with the search for a new director of the Institute for Social Research.

Thomas Finholt, dean of the School of Information, is chairing the committee. It is charged with conducting a broad search and presenting an unranked slate of recommended candidates. The process is underway.

ISR Director David Lam will step down June 30, 2020, after completing a five-year term.

Additional members of the search committee include:

  • Richard D. Gonzalez, Amos N. Tversky Collegiate Professor of Psychology and Statistics, professor of psychology and statistics, LSA; professor of marketing, Stephen M. Ross School of Business; research professor and director of the Research Center for Group Dynamics, ISR; and professor of integrative systems and design, College of Engineering.
  • Robert M. Groves, U-M alumnus; former director of the Survey Research Center, ISR; provost and Gerald J. Campbell, S.J. Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics and the Department of Sociology, Georgetown University.
  • Erin Ice, doctoral student and graduate student instructor, Department of Sociology, LSA; trainee in the Population Studies Center, ISR.
  • H.V. Jagadish, Bernard A. Galler Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, College of Engineering; director of the Michigan Institute for Data Science.
  • Felix Kabo, assistant research scientist, Survey Research Center, ISR.
  • Fiona Lee, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, associate dean for diversity, equity, inclusion and professional development, and professor of psychology, LSA.
  • Margaret C. Levenstein, research professor, School of Information; research professor, Survey Research Center, ISR; research professor and director of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, ISR.
  • Helen G. Levy, research professor, Survey Research Center, ISR; research professor, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; and research professor in health management, School of Public Health.
  • Bhramar Mukherjee, John D. Kalbfleisch Professor of Biostatistics, professor and chair of biostatistics, and professor of epidemiology and global public health, Public Health.
  • Jason Owen-Smith, professor of sociology and organizational studies, LSA; professor of public policy, Ford School; executive director of research analytics, U-M Office of Research; research professor, Survey Research Center, ISR; and executive director of the Institute for Research on Innovation & Science.
  • Matthew D. Shapiro, Lawrence R. Klein Collegiate Professor of Economics, professor of economics, LSA; research professor and director of the Survey Research Center, ISR.
  • Catherine S. Thibault, assistant director for administration, Survey Research Center, ISR.

To nominate prospective candidates or ask questions of the committee, send an email to [email protected].

By Hanna Quinlan, Public Affairs

Adapted from an Aaticle originally published in the University Record.

Scroll to Top